The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

the unbecoming     Mara Dyer believes life can’t get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there. It can. She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed. There is. She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love. She’s wrong.

Okay, so this is probably very near the top of my favorite list. I absolutely love this book. I was instantly intrigued by the cover and that’s ultimately what drew me what I now know is a MASTERPIECE. I, for one, enjoy a haunted protagonist. They are the easiest to connect with because I feel as if I’m equally broken. I believe everyone feels that connection with at least one character in fiction. Getting back to this book, I liked it because of its very complicated plot and super witty, über honest, completely teenish humor. This book makes you think and that’s what won me over. It’s a bit of mystery (what’s going on in Mara’s head?), a catty mean girl serving as a jealous rival (honestly, who isn’t captivated by a good dose of sweet revenge on these crazy people…), a love story (‘nough said), and a some pretty eerie flashbacks tumbled into one to create a grand adventure of emotions and mind tricks.  I recommend it to everyone in need of a good book that is great enough to come back to, again and again. Go read this ASAP!!

~C

Leave a Reply

