The Dark Devine by Bree Despain

the dark divine     I stood back and watched his movements. Daniel had that way  about him that could shut me down in an instant. . . . I kicked the gravel  a couple of times and worked up my courage again. “Tell me . . . I mean . .  . why did you come back? Why now, after all this time?”

 Grace  Divine, daughter of the local pastor, always knew something terrible happened the  night Daniel Kalbi disappeared—the night she found her brother Jude  collapsed on  the porch, covered in blood. But she has no idea what a truly monstrous secret  that night  really held. And when Daniel returns three years later, Grace can no longer  deny her  attraction to him, despite promising Jude she’ll stay away.

 As  Grace gets closer to Daniel, her actions stir the ancient evil Daniel unleashed that horrific night. Grace must discover the truth  behind Jude and Daniel’s dark secret . . . and the cure that can save the ones  she loves. But she may have to lay down the ultimate sacrifice to do it—her soul.

This series probably ranks #3 on my list of absolute, all-time, without-a-doubt favorite books ever, only being beaten by the Mara Dyer Series and the Caster Chronicles. About a year ago, I got this book from the library along with 5 other books. I only read one of those other books in my alloted lend time because I reread this book so many times. This is just one of those completely awesome books that people connect with on such a personal level. I mean none of us have a gorgeous, tortured, werewolf boyfriend, but we all know what it’s like to help someone we love even though they push us away. It is also a great read because it’s Christian YA which, in my opinion, the world needs more of. It was nice to have something to think back on instead of reading something that someone has completely made up. As I read from Grace’s POV, I also drew a lot of connections to my attitude and my life as a teenage girl. She’s very involved in the community and trusted, but she is also rebellious and strong. Grace knows what she wants. I love that about her character. It seems to be effortless for Mrs. Despain to create these extraordinary characters that you can’t help loving. You feel like you’ve known them your whole life!  You feel like Jude really is your brother and Daniel really is the person you’ve loved since you were a child. I love this book more than life itself. Everyone should definitely read this novel.

Leave a Reply

