6 Books You Should Read Before They’re Movies

With the YA genre getting so much attention in the movie business, it only seems right to recommend a few of my favorites that are now in the film making process or rumored to be. Let’s just hope they don’t turn out like Beautiful Creatures-which I (and everyone else who read the book) was very angry about because they changed so many things. I mean, I know that they can’t fit 400 some pages into two and a half hours worth of film but a few of those scenes came from nowhere. And characters were changed skipped. It was good, I guess, if you hadn’t read the books. But I mean, come on, everyone read that book.

Okay, my rant is over. Sorry. I tend to get carried away with my criticism. I now present to you yet another List. For more information, click the book covers (though, some are unlinked).

1. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.

Okay, you all know that I love it. If you don’t, click that pic because you’ll need to find out sooner or later. It’s such a good book. Great story line, epic romance that will make you want to rip your heart out, and the most ultimate philosphy ever to be presented in the YA world, what leagacy will I leave behind? Shailene Woodley has been offered the part of Hazel, which I would not have chosen but it’s not like I’m in charge of this stuff. (Let’s all just take a minute to imagine that; a world ruled by Chelyan. It’d be great.) It’s going to be directed by up-and-coming Josh Boone and produced by Wyck Godfrey, who no one knows even though he produced all of the Twilight movies.

The_Fault_in_Our_Stars

2. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Seeing as The Hunger Games was such a major freaking success, you should know that Catching Fire is the next installment. Though this was probably my least favorite in the trilogy, it was crucial the entire plot of the series. You can’t escape it. Catching Fire

3. Divergent by Veronica Roth

Yet another that I love. It’s easily my favorite dystopian YA. You may have recently seen the EW First Look still that was released of Shailene (yep, she’s in this one too) standing with her back pressed to a wall. The wall that has a knife stuck in it. Fairly close to her head. That may shock you-if you haven’t read the book. If you need a new adventure, go find this book.

divergent

4. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

If you have heard of just one of these books, it’s going to be City of Bones. It’s getting the most hype and the most attention because Cassandra Clare is becoming extremely popular. The first book is great but I can’t say the same for the series. It’s not Cassie’s writing because I’m in love with her other series, The Infernal Devices. Anyway, read this one so you can enjoy the movie. But just a wCity of Bones

5. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

Zoey Deutch, who played Emily in Beautiful Creatures, is going to play the role of Rose. Again, I wish I was over the casting of these things. Anyway, this is a book you either love or you hate. I’m on the love side, of course. Even if you’re over the whole vampire fad, you’ll want to read this; its different. It also explains all that confusing vampire termanology that I mentioned in my Bloodlines review. books_vampireacademy_big  6) The Maze Runner by James Dashner

My best friend in the world, Alex, recommended this book to me. It’s her favorite book of all time. Though not much information has been given as of yet, there are a lot of people getting excited over this one. I know Alex is. She was ecstatic when she heard about the possibility of this movie. Everyone falls in love with this book. Dylan O’Brien (Stiles from Teen Wolf) has accepted the role of Thomas.

theMazeRunner

Leave a Reply

