Invisibility by David Levithan & Andrea Cremer

andreacremerdavidlevithanStephen is used to invisibility. He was born that way. Invisible. Cursed.

Elizabeth sometimes wishes for invisibility. When you’re invisible, no one can hurt you. So when her mother decides to move the family to New York City, Elizabeth is thrilled. It’s easy to blend in there.

Then Stephen and Elizabeth meet. To Stephen’s amazement, she can see him. And to Elizabeth’s amazement, she wants him to be able to see her—all of her. But as the two become closer, an invisible world gets in their way—a world of grudges and misfortunes, spells and curses. And once they’re thrust into this world, Elizabeth and Stephen must decide how deep they’re going to go—because the answer could mean the difference between love and death.

Was anyone else absolutely dying of excitement when you found out that Andrea Cremer (Nightshade series) and David Levithan (Everyday, Lover’s Dictionary, The Realm of Possibility…just to name a few) were co-authoring a book? Because I thought I was having serious heart complications. Rachael and I heard a few mixed reviews and it made us a little hesitant. We loved both writers and were, like, freaking out because “What if they both just had a really awful time writing and it makes the book terrible?” and “I’ll be so, so mad if they mess this book up.”  But even skeptical, I was determined to read it. So I ordered the book. To start off, whoever wrote those mixed reviews and made us question Andrea and David: you should totally be ashamed. I’m sorry. I know that’s rude and impolite and mean, judging people for what they think about a novel, but I can’t help it. It was so great. Like, even if you read only the reviews that rate it as 5 star, you won’t expect it to be as good as it really is. I finished it in about 3 hours and actually texted Rae at nearly midnight telling her to buy it ASAP. My very favorite thing about this book is that it doesn’t fit a paranormal sub-genre to begin with. You don’t really know the YA genre it fits until about midway through the book. I loved that little mysterious factor. I refuse to spoil any book but this is one that I can’t say much about without a torrent of story-ruining information. What I mean is, there are so many twists and turns and little unexpected details that you never see coming. There are parts that make you sad, parts that make you happy, parts that temporarily confuse the hell out of you, and parts that give you hope in the great characters. Honestly, there wasn’t a second that I wasn’t on the absolute edge of my seat. It’s certainly the most action packed book I’ve read in a while. Probably ever. It’s great. It’s amazing. Go buy it!

One comment

  1. I’m really happy to hear you liked it! I’ve been super duper siked about this book and the mixed reviews kind of scared me. I do not want anything to tarnish the feelings I have of both these wonderful authors! But you said it is full of twists and that it kept you on the edge of your seat…and that makes it sound so tempting. Thanks for the review 🙂

Leave a Reply

