Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

katiemcgarrySo wrong for each other…and yet so right.

No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with “freaky” scars on her arms. Even Echo can’t remember the whole truth of that horrible night. All she knows is that she wants everything to go back to normal.

But when Noah Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his tough attitude and surprising understanding, Echo’s world shifts in ways she could have never imagined. They should have nothing in common. And with the secrets they both keep, being together is pretty much impossible.

Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how far they can push the limits and what she’ll risk for the one guy who might teach her to love again. 

Let me just start by saying that this is one of my newest yet most favorite reads. It just immediately draws you in. It completely compels you and doesn’t release your attention until you’ve finished the book. And even then, I thought about it for a week. I had a book hangover so bad that I didn’t read or reread anything else for probably 10 to 12 days. I still think about it all the time. This is one of those books that I don’t know if I can review properly-because 1) The feels are incredible and leave me unable to form coherent sentences when I talk about it sometimes and 2) I’m afraid no one will appreciate it as  much as I do-but I’m going to try. Okay, so it starts out with both Echo and Noah shrouded in mystery. You know very few things about either of them until the story really gets going. But their baggage isn’t dumped on you all at once. The people in the story are so honest and broken that they feel more real than almost any others you read about. This book is so genuine that it almost seems non-fiction. Like an autobiography of two teenagers smashed into one. You get a steady bit of knowledge that keeps you interested but doesn’t overwhelm you. Those slowly revealed details will ultimately run the plot of the story. Seeing as I have a one-track-mind, I don’t really want to tell you a lot because I’ll tell you everything (hmm, deja vu of one of my last posts). However, I can say that if you’ve ever felt like your world is ending, you should read this; you should also read this if you love having your emotions screwed with AND a great stories about redemption and forgiveness. I don’t know if it’s just me, but I did learn something about myself as I read this. I think that was a large contributing factor in how much I love this. Not only is it romantic, funny, and emotional, but it also makes you think about when or if you’ve been in a character’s place. Katie mentioned on her website that she wants someone to read her book so much that the cover comes off and I think this one is totally worthy of that. But since it’s actually Aunt Angela’s book, I don’t think I can do that…

I know that some of you are going to hate me because this post is even more vague than they usually are (I told you next to nothing about it) but trust me on one thing: This book is essential reading material. Go buy it ASAP.

Leave a comment